Information on:

American Museum Of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
212-769-5100

Mission Statement:

To discover, interpret, and disseminate-through scientific research and education-knowledge about human cultures, the natural world, and the universe.

Since its founding in 1869, the American Museum of Natural History has collected more than 32 million specimens relating to the natural world and human cultures. The Museum showcases its amazing treasures in the exhibit halls, and behind the scenes more than 200 scientists are at work making new discoveries. Millions of people from around the world visit the Museum each year.



Reviews

Sascha Bragard

Rating:
Wednesday, Aug. 1, 2018
Simply: One of the best museums of natural history in the world. Plan at least one day for your visit, to see the whole exhibition. Plan even more time, when you like to see the movies in the theaters and the special exhibitions. Top and amazing is the Dinosaurs Exhibition. It's always very crowded. Take a museum map for orientation. Have a break: There is a food concourse on the lower level and a lunch zone for schools. Or go to "Cafe on 4".

Eva Km

Rating:
Wednesday, Aug. 1, 2018
This is the museum that has been in my most-want-to-visit places in NYC for years! It's located near Central Park and has its own subway station (81st street). It's everything that I had imagined before. Dinosaurs everywhere (also in the main hall) and three large exhibition chambers on other floors. I could only be envious of New Yorkers for having this museum in their city, I wish Copenhagen would do the same. They have so many exhibitions on animals (and even people/culture *ahem*) that it would take maybe a week to go through everything. They also have special (extra fee) exhibition that we didn't go because we didn't have so much time. You could truly learn a lot just by spending a day (or two) in this museum. This is a must visit place when you're a bit nerdy like me and happen to visit New York City. There's no other place as great as this!

Lele Sheevz

Rating:
Thursday, Aug. 2, 2018
We went a few days ago and we loved the experience. If you just want to visit the permanent sections pricing for the tickets is up to you, which is great if you are in a tight budget. The museum is huge so you may plan a whole day for your visit or may as well visit the museum several times. We only stayed there for 3 hours so we only had the time to check the Civilization's exhibition and the "Our Senses" exhibition. It seemed to me and my family that the permanent exhibitions we saw weren't very well lit. However, the "Our Senses" special exhibition was outstanding specially for the kids.

Ruby Hwong

Rating:
Monday, July 23, 2018
Always a must do when we're in NYC. You pay what you want. Staff is helpful and courteous. Love the Hall is Biodiversity, North American Mammals, Dinosaurs, and giant Blue Whale. It never gets old. It can get crowded on rainy days. Get the Penny Passport here, it's cheaper than on Amazon! Fun to collect and they have different prints throughout the museum.

Cassandra Y.

Rating:
Sunday, July 15, 2018
What a great museum!! Love the exterior, love the architecture! Even though it is always crowded, people coming from different states, different countries. Well organized museum. It is huge!! It will easy to take up a few hours to walk around the whole museum. Very educational and informative!!

American Museum Of Natural History is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at American Museum Of Natural History

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Thursday, Aug 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Aug 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Friday, Aug 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Aug 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Saturday, Aug 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Aug 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Sunday, Aug 26, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Aug 26, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Monday, Aug 27, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Aug 27, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Thursday, Aug 30, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Aug 30, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Friday, Aug 31, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Aug 31, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Saturday, Sep 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Sep 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Sunday, Sep 2, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Sep 2, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Monday, Sep 3, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Sep 3, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Wednesday, Sep 5, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Sep 5, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Thursday, Sep 6, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Sep 6, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Friday, Sep 7, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Sep 7, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Sunday, Sep 9, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Sep 9, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Monday, Sep 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Sep 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Amazon Adventure

Thursday, Sep 13, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Sep 13, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Sep 14, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Sep 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Sep 16, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Sep 17, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Sep 20, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Sep 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Sep 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Sep 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Sep 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Sep 27, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Sep 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Sep 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Sep 30, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Oct 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Oct 3, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Oct 4, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Oct 5, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Oct 6, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Oct 7, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Oct 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Oct 9, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Oct 11, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Oct 12, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Oct 13, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Oct 14, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Oct 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Oct 19, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Oct 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Oct 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Oct 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Oct 26, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Oct 27, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Oct 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Oct 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Nov 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Nov 2, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Nov 4, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Nov 5, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Nov 6, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Nov 7, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Nov 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Nov 9, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Nov 11, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Nov 12, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Thursday, Nov 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Nov 16, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Nov 17, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Nov 18, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Monday, Nov 19, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Friday, Nov 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Saturday, Nov 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Opulent Oceans

Sunday, Nov 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:45pm
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Read More »